Cookie Policy

This website works best using cookies. You can find out more and change your settings any time but by continuing you agree to this.

Council Services:
  • You are here:
  • Home
  • Floating Pages

Types of Primary Schools

There are different terms used to describe primary schools.

Infant Schools

Infant schools accept children between the ages of four (reception class) and seven (year 2), after which children transfer to either a junior school or a primary school.

Junior Schools

Junior Schools accept children between the ages of seven (year 3) and eleven (year 6).

Primary Schools

Primary schools accept children between the ages of four (reception class) and eleven (year 6).


There is only one academy in Lincolnshire that takes children of primary school age; this is The Priory Witham Academy in Lincoln.  It takes children between the age of four (reception class) to eighteen (year 13).  The academy also has a nursery class.

For further information please contact the schools direct or visit their website.  Please see ‘A-Z List of Schools’ in the ‘Quick Links’ section on this page for website addresses and contact details.

Did you find what you were looking for?

Please give us your name, email address and any comments you have.

Last updated: 3 September 2012

Bookmark with:

What are these?


Powered by Webstructure.NET