Cookie Policy

This website works best using cookies. You can find out more and change your settings any time but by continuing you agree to this.

Council Services:

The Lead Local Flood Authority (LLFA)

In England, the Environment Agency (EA) has a responsibility to make sure that the country improves both the approach to reducing the risk of flooding and responding to floods when they happen.

At a local level, the Flood & Water Management Act 2010 set up bodies called Lead Local Flood Authorities (LLFA), responsible for managing local flood risk from surface water, ground water and ordinary watercourses. Main river and coastal flooding remain the responsibility of the EA.

Ordinary water courses are those which are non-main rivers or non-IDB (Internal Drainage Board) maintained. Ordinary water courses can be, for example, ditches, dykes, pipes, culverts, streams, becks and some rivers. Ordinary water courses tend to be riparian, that is, owned by the adjacent landowner(s). More information is available on riparian rights.

In Lincolnshire the LLFA is the County Council. It has the following functions and powers to help it in its local flood risk management role:

To help in its leadership and partnership working, the County Council developed the Lincolnshire Flood Risk and Drainage Management Framework. Through the Framework, the LLFA works closely with:

  • The Environment Agency
  • The seven District Councils
  • The 14 Internal Drainage Boards
  • Anglian Water Services and Severn Trent Water

The way Lincolnshire County Council works in partnership with the other risk management authorities (RMA) to reduce flood risk has been recognised nationally.

Did you find what you were looking for?

Please give us your name, email address and any comments you have.

Last updated: 21 May 2015

Bookmark with:

What are these?


Powered by Webstructure.NET