Highway works programmes

Grass cutting programme

Cutting schedule 

Cuts generally take place between late April and early October, with specific arrangements for Roadside Nature Reserves. We work with district and borough councils (who are responsible for litter picking) to ensure heavily littered areas are cleared when we use traffic management.

Cutting is very dependent on the weather, all dates are provisional and may change depending on the rate at which the grass grows. In the same way that you would not cut your lawn while it is raining because the wet grass will clog up your mower, long wet grass can clog up the blades in the tractors’ cutting heads. Furthermore, long grass tends to flatten a little when it is wet, so it is more difficult for the cutting heads to cut the grass to a consistent height.

Grass cutting programme

Below are the dates for our 2024-25 grass cutting programme. All dates are provisional and may change depending on the rate at which the grass grows.

All rural road verges are cut by us. Please be aware that some parish, town and district councils cut the verges in their built-up areas (urban) and not us (see list below). Their operations will not necessarily coincide with our grass cutting programme. Please contact the relevant council for further details on their grass cutting programme.

Verge cut Dates for Countywide - Rural Dates for Countywide - Urban
First cut 22 April to 28 May 15 April to 20 May
Second cut 10 June to 12 July 3 June to 5 July
Third cut 2 September to 4 October 2 September to 4 October

Verges in built-up areas

In the following locations, verges in built-up areas are cut on our behalf by the parish council or, where indicated, the district council. We contribute to the minimum requirement of three cuts, with some councils choosing to carry out additional cuts at their own discretion.
For further details, including the timing of these cuts, please contact the relevant council directly


  • Boston town (cut by Boston Borough Council) 
  • Benington
  • Butterwick
  • Fosdyke
  • Freiston
  • Kirton 
  • Sutterton 
  • Swineshead 

City of Lincoln

  • Lincoln (cut by City of Lincoln Council)

East Lindsey

  • Alford 
  • Baumber
  • Binbrook
  • Burgh le Marsh
  • Chapel St Leonards
  • Coningsby
  • East and West Barkwith 
  • Grimoldby and Manby
  • Hagworthingham 
  • Holton le Clay 
  • Horncastle 
  • Horsington
  • Ingoldmells
  • Louth
  • Mablethorpe and Sutton
  • Mareham le Fen
  • North Somercotes 
  • Sibsey
  • Spilsby
  • Tattershall and Tattershall Thorpe
  • Tetford and Salmonby
  • Utterby
  • Wainfleet All Saints
  • Wainfleet St Mary
  • Woodhall Spa 
  • Wragby

North Kesteven

  • Beckingham
  • Billinghay
  • Bracebridge Heath
  • Carlton Le Moorland
  • Coleby
  • Cranwell, Brauncewell and Byards Leap
  • Great Hale
  • Heckington
  • Leadenham 
  • Metheringham
  • Osbournby 
  • Ruskington 
  • Scopwick (Kirkby Green)
  • Silk Willoughby
  • Skellingthorpe
  • South Kyme 
  • Stapleford 
  • Swaton 
  • Swinderby 
  • Thorpe on the Hill
  • Waddington 
  • Welbourn
  • Wellingore 
  • Wilsford
  • Witham St Hughs

South Holland

  • Cowbit
  • Crowland
  • Deeping St Nicholas
  • Gosberton
  • Pinchbeck
  • Spalding (cut by South Holland District Council)
  • Sutton Bridge
  • The Moultons (Moulton Seas End and Moulton)
  • Weston and Weston Hills

South Kesteven

  • Ancaster
  • Aslackby and Laughton
  • Barkston and Syston
  • Barrowby
  • Baston
  • Bourne 
  • Braceborough and Wilsthorpe
  • Colsterworth and District (including North Witham, Woolsthorpe by Colsterworth, Stainby and Gunby) 
  • Grantham (cut by South Kesteven District Council)
  • Great Gonerby
  • Great Ponton
  • Haconby and Stainfield
  • Long Bennington
  • Morton and Hanthorpe
  • Old Somerby
  • Rippingale
  • Skillington
  • Stamford
  • Swayfield
  • The Deepings (Market Deeping and Deeping St James) 
  • Welby
  • Westborough and Dry Doddington

West Lindsey

  • Bardney Group
  • Bigby 
  • Blyton 
  • Brattleby 
  • Brookenby 
  • Caistor
  • Cherry Willingham
  • Dunholme 
  • Fenton and Torksey Lock
  • Fiskerton 
  • Gainsborough
  • Glentham
  • Greetwell
  • Hemswell
  • Hemswell Cliff
  • Ingham 
  • Keelby
  • Kettlethorpe and Laughterton
  • Langworth
  • Lea
  • Marton and Gate Burton
  • North Kelsey
  • Nettleham 
  • Nettleton 
  • Newton on Trent 
  • Osgodby (Kirkby) 
  • Reepham
  • Saxilby 
  • Scampton
  • Scothern 
  • Scotter
  • Scotton 
  • Snitterby 
  • Spridlington
  • Sturton by Stow 
  • Sudbrooke 
  • Swallow
  • Tealby
  • Toft Newton
  • Torksey
  • Upton 
  • Welton 
  • Willingham